DMK Fields 8 Sitting MPs; Raja to Contest From Nilgiri

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has fielded eight of its sitting Lok Sabha members for the general elections while the others are new faces.

Of the 40 constituencies (39 in Tamil Nadu and one in Puducherry), the DMK has allotted five seats in Tamil Nadu to its four allies.

The party has retained 2G scam tainted A Raja and Dayanidhi Maran as its candidates. They will contest from Nilgiri and Central Chennai constituencies.

The other sitting Lok Sabha members of the DMK who have been retained are T R Baalu, T K S Elangovan, S Jagathrakshkan, R Thamaraiselvan, Gandhiselvan and A KS Vijayan.

Party President Karunanidhi's eldest son and former Union Minister M K Alagiri has decided not to contest the Lok Sabha polls.

Karunanidhi, releasing the names of the party's candidates for 35 Lok Sabha constituencies, said that he and his party would like to see a secular government at the Centre.

He said the two communist parties - the CPI and CPM - have not approached his party for an alliance.

The two communist parties recently announced their exit from the alliance with the ruling AIADMK.